top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrit Rachè

Baptism 2021

May 14 was a special night. I got baptized for the first time since 2006. I felt a tug on my heart to go up, but I kept talking myself out of it. The Lord was telling me to go, but I kept trying to reason with Him. He reminded of what He said to me in 2011 when I heard His voice for the first time. He said that there were going to be times that I just needed to say "Yes, Lord." This was one of those times. I procrastinated until the last moment, but I went ahead and went. I felt like there were things that needed to be laid in the grave as I step into this new season called motherhood. I had to lay down my unheatlhy habits of comparison and self-doubt. These are things that I have struggled with my entire life. The Lord wanted to break these chains off of me, not only for my safe, but for my unborn child. I am going to be an example of what a strong godly woman is like to my daughter. I do not want to pass on feelings of comparison and self-doubt, but rather feelings of self-worth and self-confidence. But, I can't pass along qualities to her that I don't exhibit myself. So tonight, I did it! I went up to the front of the auditorium to get baptized.


As I was sitting there in the water I picture all of my worries, cares and insecurities sitting in there with me. Once I was under the water, I see Jesus cleansing me and setting me free from those things. I came up a new person. A person that is ready to raise my child the way the Lord has called me to.


The Lord instilled a holy boldness in me that I will need in order to make God-directed decisions for my child. There are things that the Lord has asked my husband and I to do that are not popular. Some of these things will frustrate others who don't understand. But at the end of the day, I am responsible for being the steward of my child and I am accountable to the Lord.


Getting baptized was vital. I am committed to the Lord and committed to raising my daughter in the way that He sees fit.

Getting baptized was a symbol of me laying down two things. The first was me laying down the baggage of self-doubt that I have carried for years. This is baggage that I refuse to bring into her life. I am an example for her and I am called to raise her up to be a strong confident woman of God. And I can’t raise her up to be someone that I’m not. So last night, I became that person. I laid down my old baggage so I am free to pick up the responbility of raising my daughter. Second, I laid down my old habits of being a people pleaser and picked up the habit of living for an audience of One, God. There are going to be unpopular decisions that myself and my husband must make for our daughter. These decisions will ONLY be influenced by Jesus Christ who has selected us to be her stewards. She is not ours, but God’s. The decisions we make for her will not be to appease anyone, but God. I would rather have a human being upset with me than the Lord upset with me. Last night was a public declaration not only for myself, but for my baby. We will serve the Lord at whatever cost. I will raise her the way the Lord has called me to...PERIOD. The Lord selected and trusted me to be her mother and I do not take that lightly. She has a huge calling in her life that I must protect and cultivate. I pray that I have godly friends and family who understand and stand by my side, but if not, God is more than enough.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page